.AfriMosaic.

Even if you know me well, you don’t know this

Day 1

I know all the words, to all the songs in the Sound Of Music. Why…because it’s my favourite movie of all time. Why is a 1965 American musical film my favourite film of all time? It just is. I have no answer for that.

For the record, I figure I have watched it over 10 times. Unofficial statistics suggest a different figure of course. Don’t judge.

I find it easy to share my love for this musical with children…they don’t judge. It’s easy to be judged for being a fan of ‘musicals’. I mean some of them are tacky, and watching a movie in which the actors and actresses break out in song every two minutes is not for the faint hearted.

The funny thing is, if there was ever a big separation call that put ‘fans of musicals’ on one side of the earth and ‘non-fans’ on one side, I would probably choose the ‘non-fan’ side. Except of course if there was a choice for ‘only Sound of the Music fans’. Frankly, my scatter brain finds it hard to concentrate on a plot that includes dance routines and singing smack in the middle of sentences. Its like the actors and actresses are having a conversation….and all of a sudden they break out into song and cartwheels, only to return to the storyline a good ten minutes later. Thats confusing…for anyone. However there is something magical about the Sound of Music. It is beautiful!

And yes, when I am alone or in the car I sing along and pretend I am the wonderful Maria! Just like Maria the main lady in the movie, I worked as a governess once, after high school… for one month. I had 4 kids under my charge. I wasn’t as brave as Maria though. She took care of 7 children, I took care of 4. A month was enough to scare me away from kids for a very long time. And maybe the term ‘governess’ means something else where I come from. I think we ‘misunderstood’ the terms and conditions from the very start. But that’s a story for another day šŸ™‚

Anyway, I am going to share a piece of the Sound of Music down here. One day I will travel to Salzburg, Austria and run over the hills, belting out a beautiful song just like Maria did. ‘The hills are alive, with the sound of music”….. (Come-on, I know you want to sing along šŸ™‚ )

Would love to hear your thoughts and comments:

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2014 by in Writers Bootcamp.
Center for Creative Placemaking

Art and Culture Moving Forward Communities

Dutchman in the Mother City

Experiences of an expat in the Cape

Expat in Addis

How to survive happily in Ethiopia

lionessunplugged.wordpress.com/

Adventures, musings (and sometimes mishaps) of a human currently serving as a missionary in Swaziland.

AFROBLUSH

Pan-African Culture Blog & Podcast

Les Reveries de Rowena

Now I see the storm clouds in your waking eyes: the thunder , the wonder, and the young surprise - Langston Hughes

Writivism

Promoting African Literature since 2012

2Summers

An American in Quirky Johannesburg

