.AfriMosaic.

For the 20 somethings…..

recite-22437-23764397-1deeovm

It’s my annual 21st today  because I am one of those people lucky enough to never grow old (at heart). Being born on the 4th of July is pretty neat too, especially if I moved to America with its independence day bashes complete with fireworks and parades. I would be guaranteed of a free celebration somewhere, e-v-e-r-y year on my special day!

I feel like we always get something on our birthdays – we get messages, phone calls, gifts, cards, and yummy cake. I love all of these but this year I decided I wanted to give something to others on my birthday instead. After thinking long and hard I decided I was going to use my birthday to share with my fellow 20-somethings, wisdom that has been given to me by the various women in my life. Wisdom that is focused on life in this fine decade between 20 and 29. So two weeks before my birthday, I started collecting words of wisdom from the ladies around me who have gone through this decade and can reflect back in retrospect to share what they wish they had known in their 20’s. I asked a diverse group of women that I trust and respect and after going through their wonderful words of wisdom, I have put this post together to share with you. All the words that precede the visual quotes are part of the amazing words of wisdom I received.

Read on and be inspired!

  • Your 20s is the time to discover yourself. Be responsible and independent to make your own decisions for your life but at the same time listen to advice from your parents/ guardians/ elders. They have a wealth of wisdom that can help you in your life choices. Take risks, and listen to your heart.
Photo Credit: Aleks Dorohovich

Photo Credit: Aleks Dorohovich

  • Take time to get career guidance so that you get to know what you are good at and the kind of profession you would flourish in. Work with what you have to make progress towards your goals. It is important to ….

Ringi

  • While navigating our 20’s we all try to be the best we can be. The truth is,you can never please everyone, no matter how much you try. It has never worked, it never will. There is always going to be someone who rains on your parade at some point….and that’s OK. What’s in your control is to do the best that you can and let the rest be.  And while you are at it……

Lilian

  • Uphold your faith and beliefs. Have a career so that you do not have to rely on anyone. Family is important, make sure to create a loving home wherever you find yourself. Remember to….

Tete

  • Forgiveness is powerful. It brings healing to your mental state. Remember to live your life responsibly and to the fullest. No one knows what tomorrow brings.  While we are on the mental tip….

Kholo

  • It doesn’t matter what you are planning but start planning early. In your 20s, you have the chance to take a step back to look and see where you are in life. Keep your focus on those goals.

Vivian

  • In your 20’s you seldom realize that you have your whole life ahead of you. Even when people tell you this, you still feel like you have to figure your whole life right now! I wish I knew that pain doesn’t kill and tomorrow will always be better than today. Most of all….
Photo by Alejandro Escamilla

Photo by Alejandro Escamilla

  •  I wish I had known that the little things were the big things and the big things were the little things. What I would tell my 27-year-old self…: Don’t waste your time on people / men who don’t make you feel happy. PS: Save money you will need it someday! In the meantime….

Elena

  • My analogy is that you don’t ask a carpenter how much flour goes in to making a loaf of bread nor an engineer to coach you in tennis. In your 20’s you must make a decision on who the ‘professionals’ in your life are, the people you turn to for advice and guidance. Direct questions to the right professionals in your life.

Corah

  • In finance & money: save and acquire assets even if you don’t think you need them. Make hay while the sun shines. On love: follow your heart not your head. Love as if you have never been hurt. Also remember that a good heart remains way after good looks are gone 🙂 On careers: be loyal, work as if you don’t need the money, give your best always and maintain integrity. And on life in general…..

Nozipho

 

  • Each moment of your life, the good and the bad, will mold you into who you will be in future. Often times the greatest opportunities of growth spawn from the greatest moments of despair. Life is cyclical. Cry and worry and scream today. But tomorrow is a new day, one not to be wasted on the thoughts and life of yesterday. Let tomorrow bring more laughter and joy and time with family and friends. Let the greats be greater!!
Kia

 

  • And because my mom is my mom, she naturally had more advice for me 🙂 So she gets two spots in this list! Be simple, don’t build up baggage, forget your troubles and remember your blessings (almost sounds like something out of a Bob Marley song) Above all else remember that…

Mom 2

Every year I have a theme song that kinda supports how I feel and what I am working towards. As I start this new year, my theme song is Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield. The chorus goes like this:

“Feel the rain on your skin,
No one else can feel it for you,
Only you can let it in,
No one else, no one else,
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken,
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten.”

I would like to thank all the fabulous ladies who contributed to this wisdom project. In no particular order – my mom – Mrs LC Maposa, Nozipho Chivizhe, Nkateko Mayimele, Elena Rentz Mills, Lilian Matema, Vivian Dube, Ringisai Batiya, Corah Dube – Mawere, Tete Mai Stan, Kia Payne and Kholofelo Chivizhe.

Thank you also to the ladies who wanted to contribute but didn’t get a chance to, your words of wisdom are still very important to me!

If you have been inspired by any of these words of wisdom, feel free to save any of the visual quotes, share the post or leave your comments in the box below!

7 comments on “For the 20 somethings…..

  1. lesreveriesderowena
    July 5, 2014

    Happy birthday, Sifiso! I’m not in this age group anymore but I do agree with all the points that you’ve made and they are all things I thought about more deeply from my mid-twenties onwards. I wish you a year that is as fruitful as you are wonderful ❤

    Like

  2. Sifiso Maposa
    July 5, 2014

    Thank you Rowena 🙂 Glad to know they resonate and thanks for taking time to read the post!

    Like

  3. Fiona
    July 5, 2014

    This is so inspiring! I really enjoyed ready this! Thanks for sharing! & Happy Birthdayyy =D !!

    Like

  4. Sifiso Maposa
    July 5, 2014

    Awesome! Thanks for reading Fiona 🙂

    Like

  5. Cynthia Chandomba
    July 7, 2014

    I really enjoyed reading this post, and thank you to the ladies for the words of wisdom. Akuruma nzeve ndewako!

    Like

  6. Sifiso Maposa
    July 7, 2014

    Yay! Glad you enjoyed it Cynthia 🙂 Akuruma nzeve ndewako chokwadi!

    Like

  7. Pingback: The best advice I ever heard | AfriMosaic.

Would love to hear your thoughts and comments:

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2014 by in Random Musings.
Center for Creative Placemaking

Art and Culture Moving Forward Communities

Dutchman in the Mother City

Experiences of an expat in the Cape

Expat in Addis

How to survive happily in Ethiopia

lionessunplugged.wordpress.com/

Adventures, musings (and sometimes mishaps) of a human currently serving as a missionary in Swaziland.

AFROBLUSH

Pan-African Culture Blog & Podcast

Les Reveries de Rowena

Now I see the storm clouds in your waking eyes: the thunder , the wonder, and the young surprise - Langston Hughes

Writivism

Promoting African Literature since 2012

2Summers

An American in Quirky Johannesburg

