.AfriMosaic.

Find a job ad in the paper. Write about your life if you had that job.

Day 5

I didn’t have a newspaper so I googled ‘ job ads’. Actually, I googled ‘United Nations job ads’ because I wanted to see what Google would decide to spring forth, with its cutting-edge algorithms 🙂

The job I found was Inter-regional Adviser: Sustainable Development Strategies, based at the UN headquaters in New York City. I have never heard of a more cool sounding title! Except it sounds like one of those high level jobs where you work 48 hours a day and turn into an anti-social, noodle eating busy person who wonders how anyone can find time to take a vacation. Really . Still I will imagine my day as a UN Inter-regional Adviser: Sustainable Development Strategies.

In my wildest imagination, I picture myself living a life that involves a scene out of Suits, (the series) and me, walking along to the chorus in Jay-Z and Alicia Keys, Empire State of Mind song. My glamorous fantasy of being in New York would probably be hampered by the stark realisation of being just an international civil servant albeit with an honourable role dedicated to improving the lives of millions of people through this wonderful United Nations. I wonder if  wuld befriend the Wall Street bankers or the film stars on Broadway. Would they want to be friends with an Inter-regional Adviser: Sustainable Development Strategies.

The focus of the position  – sustainable development strategies wouldn’t match with an opulent kind of lifestyle either….I think.  So instead of riding around in a chaffeur driven luxury car, (like Harvey or Jessica), I would probably be that lady riding the subway to work, eating a bagel, thinking of how to save the world while singing “…in New York….concrete jungle where dreams are made of……”

Maybe I would meet Ban Ki Moon in the hallway during lunchtime or bump into him in the canteen, if there is one during lunchtime. We would discuss the important work of saving the world and in the process agree to convene yet another meeting to bring world leaders together to discuss the elusive ‘sustainable development.’

I would probably spend 9 months out of the year travelling to member countries, doing research and finding out the needs of the communities I would be serving.

After much thought, I think this would be a pretty neat job to have. A girl is allowed to dream and imagine right?

 

 

Would love to hear your thoughts and comments:

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2014 by in Writers Bootcamp.
Center for Creative Placemaking

Art and Culture Moving Forward Communities

Dutchman in the Mother City

Experiences of an expat in the Cape

Expat in Addis

How to survive happily in Ethiopia

lionessunplugged.wordpress.com/

Adventures, musings (and sometimes mishaps) of a human currently serving as a missionary in Swaziland.

AFROBLUSH

Pan-African Culture Blog & Podcast

Les Reveries de Rowena

Now I see the storm clouds in your waking eyes: the thunder , the wonder, and the young surprise - Langston Hughes

Writivism

Promoting African Literature since 2012

2Summers

An American in Quirky Johannesburg

