.AfriMosaic.

My parents

Day 14

My parents are rockstars. Figurative rockstars. In my mind.

I call them rockstars because they are awesome. They have never been actual rockstars nor have they ever been in an actual rock band. My dad was once a radio dj though, I wonder if that counts?

Anyway, If there was a ‘parent’ bank and everyone had the chance to choose the parents they wanted, I would choose my parents just as they are, flaws and all.

My dad taught me to be a leader. I remember the words he told me once when I moved to a different high school. He said ” do your best, prove yourself and you will gain respect.” Boy did I work hard that term! His words were true and still are. I still apply them in any situation I find myself. My dad nurtured my love for reading and his firm belief in making sure his children were educated is the reason I do what I do today. Its still his firm belief that noone can take your edication away from you, how true this is.I remember a gift he bought me when I was 10 years old. A big Oxford dictionary, with words my small mind could not comprehend. After deciding to ‘study’ this dictionary, I read a new word everyday and used these learned words at the most inappropriate times. I just wanted to say them..and show my dad what a great job I was doing ‘studying’ the dictionary!

My mom taught me to be a leader. She taught me to be calm, compassionate and kind. She taught me the power of forgiveness. She taught me to be creative, to make things and to be a lady. I remember wondering what exactly my mom studied. She could and still can sew like a pro, cook yummy dishes, tend the garden, do my hair in intricate tight patterns, 4×4 drive through rough terrain and she has many more tricks up her sleeve. How she does it, I don’t know! I learned about the power of kindness and kind words from my mom.  My mom was born in a family of ten girls, thats enough sisters to have a total drama island! But it is certainly not so. The love shared between these sisters is something of a marvel. It is love in its purest form that I witness everyday.

My parents opened my eyes to the world. They taught me to love travelling and exploring.

Like a true love story never ends, the love I have for my parents is forever.

 

Would love to hear your thoughts and comments:

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2014 by in Writers Bootcamp.
Center for Creative Placemaking

Art and Culture Moving Forward Communities

Dutchman in the Mother City

Experiences of an expat in the Cape

Expat in Addis

How to survive happily in Ethiopia

lionessunplugged.wordpress.com/

Adventures, musings (and sometimes mishaps) of a human currently serving as a missionary in Swaziland.

AFROBLUSH

Pan-African Culture Blog & Podcast

Les Reveries de Rowena

Now I see the storm clouds in your waking eyes: the thunder , the wonder, and the young surprise - Langston Hughes

Writivism

Promoting African Literature since 2012

2Summers

An American in Quirky Johannesburg

